Time, book, and social media

I used to dream to have more free time when i had steady job a few years ago. I would use it for reading and writing and other thing that makes me happy. I brought my book to work and read it when there was no customer. My coworkers knew i like reading and they said book made them sleepy. The other one asked me why there is no any picture in my book, that would be more interesting.

Now i have so much time to do whatever i want but i don’t do those things that i dream of so much. I work one or two hours a day for once or twice a week and the rest is the ample of time.

Much of the time i look at my dogs and play with them. I think we have similar routine, they sleep, bark, chase people at the lane and eat. Mine is lay down and stare the the window looking at butterfly pea flower that fencing me from neighbors eyes. Eyeing the bees and butterflies there, wondering whether they feel bored with life sometimes. Pretty much time i like cuddling my little my dog, since the big one hardly likes to be touched. Cebol is so cute and adorable. I can’t resist myself to kiss him then he shows me his belly to caress.

Return to the book thing. It is not much interesting anymore, or maybe i don’t find the book that grab my attention. I used to read books of Haruki Murakami titled 1Q84. They are three series of books. The book hooked me like a maniac gamer, read to follow the beautiful girl who in the mission to kill untouchable villain. What amazing story line. Although They are slightly thick but i never got bored. I wish to read more of his book.

There are some used bookstores nearby my house, it is easy to find it and cheap too. I just need to ride my scooter to ubud ten minutes away to get there. I usually go to charity shop where they sell stuffs donated by tourists. I browse the shelves in book section for sure. I love second book there, it is very affordable only two or three dollar for a book and plus purchasing there means helping people in need.

A lot of new york bestseller books to choose from. With the easy access to book yet it is still not enough to gain my interest to read again. Perhaps i need a pressure to get back into it. Last time Belinda my regular customer allowed me to borrow her books. I took three. I pushed myself to read them all. I felt bad to keep her books too long. That is the reason for me to keep reading. I finished them around a month. One of those books did not hook me but i continued to read then found it not so bad. So the pressure is needed to push me to devour them whether i like the book or not.

Now i read one novel for ages. No pressure here, i switch between the book and the social media. i stare at the pages only a few minutes and go quickly to social media like Facebook, Instagram, Twitter and news for hours without i realize it. My phone consumes my time all day. Laying on my bed with phone in my hand scrolling and scrolling and scrolling till the battery is flat.

I know it is nothing in there but i can’t help it. My sister frequently finds me on my bed and asked me to weed at the yard. The bush is growing wild reaching the knee. I think the phone is like poison in one way if i don’t use it wisely. It ruins my mental health. Being jealous to see friends having amazing life in facebook. They upload picture working while holidaying  abroad, or eating at restaurant and shopping in malls. Wondering how lucky they are.

I need to stop this and return to my good and productive life like walking exercise every morning, meditating, reading writing, probably afterward rewarding myself going to cinema. It is much beneficial rather than ruining myself with social media. I must use my time for good activities and throwing my phone in the river?

Leave a comment